Uncategorized

The week T was away and which ended in getting a flat.

Hello,

This week was quite laid back in the beginning for me but the end got kind of crazy.

The beginning was quite laid back since T went for his second stint of his 2 week job in London. It was quite quiet and I continued my trip down the rabbit hole of watching knitting pod casts. They are so great if you are a knitter because they are done really informally kind of like you’re having tea and catching up with a friend. People often include bits of news from their lives as well so it really is like having a friend.

Knitting wise I knit a pair of split mittens for T. The cut off gloves are too cold here when it gets down to about 1 or 2 degrees C. But it is really frustrating having to keep taking your gloves off and potentially dropping them and losing them. So I made this using a pattern by Winwick Mum which I altered. I also use her sock pattern for my socks. I was very proud of these because it is the first time I have knit this pattern and the first time I have knit using chunky wool and I finished them in one day! In hind sight I don’t think that I really like working with chunky wool. Maybe if I used it for a different pattern or something but it just didn’t gel with me. I might try make myself a pair and use a DK wool and adapt the pattern. img-20170123-wa0010

On Wednesday the 25th it was Burns night. I was sad that I couldn’t go out with T but Friend E and I planned to go out anyway and just have a quick dinner before she got back to work. She is on a hectic job at the moment and has to work very long hours. Unfortunately work blew up at the last moment and we had to cancel our dinner plans. She did however pop past for a very late tea and we had a very wonderful chat. It was very late but since I don’t have any commitments at the moment I was happy to just stay up and it was also great to chat to another person. Haha, Podcasts can’t make up for human interaction. I also really get on well with Friend E.

Wednesday was also the day that I finished my pink stripy socks. I meant to insert a picture of them here from my Instagram but it is proving difficult at the moment but more about that later.

So on Thursday I started a new pair of socks! I am on a sock knitting rampage. Thursday was also the first day that I went out on my own in public, aside from the time I had to go to the flat viewing. I am not going to be pretending anything else is happening… I just suffer from anxiety okay. And for me it makes doing things that I have never done before difficult. And it doesn’t matter if I have been to the shops in South Africa on my own before, these are different shops so they are new to me. Anyway I ran out of milk. And if you know me I like my coffee and tea very very milky. So I could have survived if I really didn’t want to go out without T but it was very tempting. And eventually I caved and I went out to the local sainsbury’s to buy some milk. The reward of some hot milky tea was worth it. And the experience was fine… sort of, it was only at the end where the cashier’s cash register wouldn’t open properly and so I had to wait for 5 min while he fiddled with it, all the while my tension building. So eventually when he gave me the change and turned to complain about his thing to his colleague I didn’t count my cash, I shoved it into my bag not my purse and practically ran out the store like a crazy woman. Anyway now that  I have done that and survived I am sure I can do it again.

Friday T let me know that the flat we really wanted had accepted our application and that he was going to sign the lease on Saturday morning. But that we also needed to check out from our current accommodation that morning too. So I flew around the house repacking our stuff and tidying up and making lists of what needed to get packed.
Then that evening T got back and Friend E joined us in going out for Haggis Neeps (turnips) and Tatties (potatoes) for a belated Burns night at our favourite pub, the Haymarket. 20170127_20491220170127_204938

On Saturday we had a very busy morning. T went out to sign the lease while E and I went up and down the lifts moving all our stuff from our apartment to hers (in case the staff came to kick us out of the room). Then when T got back we had to do about 3 very heavily laden trips down the road to our new place. Luckily it is like a 3 minute walk so it is very close.
The apartment is an absolute dream so far. Obviously I have not lived in it long enough to really judge it but so far I love it. The first things we noted were that 1 there is no internet there currently. The facilities are installed but we need to get a contract still. And the other thing is that we needed to get some bedding ASAP since we had to sleep there that night.

So we did what all sensible people do and made a day trip out to see IKEA. We didn’t actually buy anything there in the end but I really wanted to go because I had never been to one before. It was also very inspirational to see their examples of how you can furnish a very tiny house without making it seem overcrowded. It was amazing. And we also saw a few things that we might land up ordering online. Unfortunately they didn’t have a large range of bedding and being an asthmatic who is allergic to dust mites I can’t use feather bedding which meant we only had half the selection. Thankfully there was a Next Home near by and we found good bedding there, and  we got a mattress protector and pillows for me that were hypo-allergenic which meant we didn’t need to find dustmite covers for me as well. We also bought some very pretty bedding which is a nice warm colour and which really made the bedroom seem much more homely.

After we got home we decided to try and find some very cheap take out food as we didn’t really want to spend more money but at the same time none of us were in the mood to cook. On our quest for food we saw the below restaurant. It is called Troy and it is all decorated with wood and horses.

img_20170128_193402img_20170128_193414

Then we stopped at a place which promised “Burritos as big as your head”. It turned out to be run by Polish people, a Mexican Polish place. Hehe. The Burritos were delicious, it was also my first ever Burrito. 20170128_195504

After all of that adventure we now get to Sunday where I am sat in a Starbucks, which has an amazing view of the Castle, eating lunch and using their free WiFi to bring you this blog! Unfortunately there are a lot of people using the internet here which is why I am having a little trouble uploading all my photos.

We have bought a temporary 15gb simcard for our portable modem so that this week I can at least use Whastapp and instagram so that I don’t go stir crazy, however I won’t be able to have my knitting podcast company. Funny story about internet here. I know everyone says that South Africa has rediculously expensive internet but it only really hit home today. While we were getting our card the assistant was giving us advice on proper internt providers. And he said that if we were happy with “slow” we could get 15mb for 30 pounds. SO I thought gee that’s expensive. 15mb of data for 30 pounds… aha okay so apparently they don’t mention the amount of data because that’s UNCAPPED! and apparently 15mb speed is slow. Hahaha. imagine paying about R500 for uncapped internet at 15mb. My life has certainly changed. I want to stick with the “slow” one though because it will be fast for me and then we can save up  more money for eventually buying our own house one day.

Okay T is starting to look at me grumpily because apparently I have been typing away here for an hour. So this will have the be the end of my post for this week.

Lots of love,

Diella

2 thoughts on “The week T was away and which ended in getting a flat.

Leave a Reply

