knitting · this week · travel

The week of St Patrick’s Day

Hello again readers,

Aren’t you lucky? Two posts in one week πŸ˜‰

So as you know last week was kind of crazy because my mother-in-law (M-I-L) was staying in Edinburgh from Friday until Tuesday / Wednesday. That is only 5 days to try and cram as much excitement and fun into as possible! There are still a whole lot of things that we didn’t do but that’s just a good excuse for her to come back again πŸ˜›

Monday was a very exciting day indeed as we went for a train ride out to Kirkcaldy. Since the Sunday had been so tiring with going to the castle all day we decided that a nice train ride would be good so we could sit instead… ha.ha.ha.

Blow is a map and I have traced the train line that we took in purple. We actually stopped off in Aberdour to look at the castle there and we landed up having an adventure there too. Then we got back onto the train went through to Kirkcaldy (lovely coastal route) and then we just changed trains and went back to Edinburgh again.

kirkaldy map

I have complied the photos of the castle and the videos from the train into a Youtube video below so that it is easier for you to see.

So our adventure… While we were buying our tickets my M-I-L asked about the beaches near by, the lady at the counter said that it was a really nice walk between two beaches and that the walk was really quick. She also said that the second beach was just round the coast line and there were some cafes there. So M-I-L and I decided to take an amble down to the shore. Below you can see where we walked the way there is in purple and the way back is in pink.

walk

We got down to where it says Room with a view on the map. This is where the lady at the ticket office had said that we just need to go round the coast a little. At this time M-I-L and I were quite hungry and were keen for the “cafes” that were round the corner.

IMG_2411
Pebbly beach with an old broken pier.

Well… the cliff pictured below is what greeted us. There was definitely no way that we could go around that. There were some little signs along the way that indicated a walking route but they were not spaced closely enough together for us to really be able to follow them properly. Anyway we landed up walking up a long stairway a litter further back from the broken pier and we found ourselves on top of the cliff. When we walked round we didn’t really see a beach and there certainly weren’t any cafes. So we had to use the little (rather inadequate) map that the ticket lady had given us and we found our way back to the harbor and walked back from there.

IMG_2412

Back in the little town we found a nice cafe called Mc Taggart’s and we had some lovely coffee and bagels.

IMG_2413

When we arrived back in Edinburgh we went up to my flat in order to start supper only to discover that I had left my keys inside my flat (it has a yale lock). Thankfully T had his keys, only he wasn’t due back home for another 2 hours! So we went back to M-I-L’s flat and she had a rest while I knitted on Jeantelle’s socks.

When T got back he started supper and invited friend E over since it was her birthday! It was a really lovely and jolly evening as M-I-L and I bought special dessert and friend E brought sparkling wine!

Tuesday

On Tuesday we did a bit of admin. I went to M-I-L’s flat to help her carry her things to my flat as she had to check out at 12pm. Then we had to check her into her flight, that was quite an experience as neither of us had done it before. Thomas usually does it for me. Then we went off to buy some presents for her to take back for family members. Then we only realised the time at the last minute and somehow miraculously managed to make it down at 5pm South Bridge Road, to St. Andrews tram stop, took the tram to West end and still made it to St. Mary’s Evensong at 5.30! I think I did my running for the week. Haha.

That evening we went out to our favourite pub for supper and then T and I accompanied M-I-L to her new hotel. She stayed at a hotel next to the airport because her flight left at 5am the next morning so she had to be up at 3am or something like that.

On Wednesday I caught up with a bit of the housework that I had let slide and I did my BLOG POST for you guys!! πŸ˜€ then when I had a bit of time to myself I picked up my grandmother’s shawl again.IMG_20170315_163342

On Thursday it’s my podcasting day and this usually takes most of the day. I decided then that T, E and I should go out on Friday night to celebrate St. Patricks day, I wanted to dance and I wanted to wear one of the dresses which I got at the vintage fair.

img_0821
Just perfect for St. Paddy’s don’t you think!

Anyway one of the bands that was playing at Stramash on St. Paddy’s was called “Venus’s Nipples”. I had sent a link to the event to T and E… T sent back the picture below saying, I presume that the band looks like this:

IMG-20170314-WA0004

For those of you who don’t know that is a cropped image of Venus as painted by Sandro Botticelli in the painting “The Birth of Venus”

I have included a picture of my video set up for my podcast… because it is funny. I had been using T’s Cannon EOS 600D which is an amazing camera. But it is not so good for filming as it doesn’t have an automatic focus while you are filming. So I tried out my little cannon powershot SX210 and discovered that it does have an auto focus for filming. The only problem is that the display is fixed and cannot rotate out, so inorder to check what was going on I needed to balance my vanity mirror on top of T’s suitcase.

IMG_20170316_124558

The camera did actually work a lot better, only I think that there was a spot of dust on my lens so it seemed to keep refocusing. I’ll try again next week and maybe move it a bit closer and make sure the lens is extra clean, otherwise I may have to go back to the other camera and just keep manually refocusing.

Then after supper T went out for bowling with his audit team as a team building type thing. So I had a lovely long Skype with my mom and my two soft teadys. The one you may recognise as my new coo and the other is my Sheep which T bought for me a number of years before we were married. I am actually thinking that I might use one of them as a mascot for my knitting podcast and I don’t have any pets who can join me. A lot of podcaster’s pets join them and it makes me miss my pets. But I can’t decide if I want sheepy because WOOL and because I love him. Or if I want Coo because he’s adorable and Scottish.

IMG-20170316-WA0024

Friday

On Friday I just knit like a crazy person on my Granny’s shawl. And then we went out to Stramash forΒ  St. Patricks day. IMG_20170317_213512

IMG-20170317-WA0005
I love this shirt on T but it is too bright to wear on normal occasions.

The Church was lit up green for the event! For those of you who don’t know Stramash is in an old church. I presume it has been de-sanctified. I was wearing lipstick which is not something I do all the time so T got me to kiss his pint of Guinness and see how much rubbed off.

IMG_20170317_234828

IMG_20170318_020234
This was the last band that we heard play. They were called Mad Ferret and they were AWESOME. Very folky. And people were loving it and dancing a lot.

IMG_20170318_020240

IMG_20170318_020251
More lipstick smooches on T’s cheek. And friend E came to join us as well.

Saturday was a little bit of a write off… we may have gotten home at 3 am! We landed up having breakfast at about 12, then I went with friend E to go buy some yarn and needles for her and her friends who want me to teach them to knit. Then I rushed home to grab my own knitting and went off to my knit group.

By the time I got home I had a muscular headache, so I took some painkillers and just went to bed. I woke up briefly because T made me some supper.

And then it was Sunday. Today! I finished my Granny’s shawl! I am very impressed with my self for how quickly I knit it. Here it is blocking. It will probably have to block for quite a while as I set it up not next to the radiator and now I can’t move it because all the cardboard pieces are separate. So I am guessing it will take a while to dry. The hairbrush is for scale. haha.

IMG-20170319-WA0000

Some how I only landed up with one pet photo this week! I think I wasn’t bugging people enough for photos because I was too distracted.

IMG-20170314-WA0001

Any whoo that is it for my blog this week. I hope that you enjoyed it πŸ™‚
Love Diella

Leave a Reply

